Dinda na Tána‘The chief episodes of the Táin’

  • prose, list
  • Táin bó Cúailnge
A short section, or table of contents, in the first recension of Táin bó Cúailnge (YBL). It enumerates the fifteen subsequent episodes, or main episodes (dinda), that make up the final section of the Táin.
The list of titles announces the following episodes:
  1. Caladgleó Cethirn meic Findtain (The hard fight of Cethern mac Fintain)
  2. Fiacalgleó Fintain (The tooth-fight of Fintan)
  3. Rúadruca Mind (The red shame of Mend)
  4. Bángleó Rochada (The bloodless fight of Rochad)
  5. Mellgleó Iliach (The humorous fight of Iliach)
  6. Airicar n-arad (The missile-throwing of the charioteers)
  7. Aisling n-Aimirgin (The trance of Aimirgin)
  8. Sírrabad Súaltaim (The repeated warning of Súaltaim)
  9. Tochestal Ulaid (The mustering of the Ulstermen)
  10. Aislingi Dubthaich (The trance of Dubthach)
  11. Aislingthi Cormaic Con Longes (The trance of Cormac Con Longes)
  12. Toichim na m-buiden (The array of the companies)
  13. Gleóud in chatha (The final decision in battle)
  14. Damgal na tarb (The fight of the bulls)
  15. Ús in Duib Chúalngni for táin (The adventures of Dub Cúailnge on the foray)
The title Tochostul fear nÉrend does not occur here but is used as a subheading later in the text.
Context(s) The (textual) context(s) to which the present text belongs or in which it is cited in part or in whole.
prose, list (primary)


Táin bó Cúailnge


Primary sources Text editions and/or modern translations – in whole or in part – along with publications containing additions and corrections, if known. Diplomatic editions, facsimiles and digital image reproductions of the manuscripts are not always listed here but may be found in entries for the relevant manuscripts. For historical purposes, early editions, transcriptions and translations are not excluded, even if their reliability does not meet modern standards.

See Táin bó Cúailnge for the complete list
[ed.] [tr.] O'Rahilly, Cecile [ed. and tr.], Táin bó Cúailnge: Recension I, Dublin: DIAS, 1976.
CELT – edition: <link> CELT – translation: <link>
Lines 3154–3160 Recension I.
Dennis Groenewegen
blog comments powered by Disqus