Millet, Benignus


Millet, Benignus, The Irish Franciscans, 1651–1665, Analecta Gregoriana, Rome: Gregorian University Press, 1964.

  • Book/Monograph
Citation details
The Irish Franciscans, 1651–1665
Gregorian University Press
Abstract (cited)
The aim of this study is to examine the history of the Irish Franciscans during the fifteen years immediately following the end of this golden age. In other words, it begins in 1651, at the commencement of the second half of the seventeenth century, and seeks to trance the fate and fortunes of the Irish friars during the Puritan regime and the early years of the Restoration. Why 1665? This is a most convenient terminus and quem, because of the major ecclesiastical events of 1666 and the chain of reactions to which they gave rise. The year 1666 saw the celebration in Dublin in the month of June of a special national synod permitted and indeed engineered by Ormond, the viceroy, for the express purpose of persuading the Irish clergy to accept and sign what was known as the Remonstrance or Protestation of Loyalty to the king, and the theological faculty of Louvain university had censured it. The prelates and clergy rejected the official formula at the synod, but signed an alternative and less obnoxious one.
Subjects and topics
History, society and culture
Franciscan friarsFranciscan friars
Franciscans, Franciscan Order, Grey Friars, Friars Minor, OFM
AAT: “Broad term for a Roman Catholic religious order comprising several divisions; founded by St. Francis of Assisi (1181-1226). The rule emphasizes the vow of poverty, theology, preaching, and aid to the poor and sick. Different schools of thought among followers developed over the years; St. Bonaventure (1257-1274) founded a moderate interpretation of St. Francis' rule that bridged many of the differences. The independent branches of the order are the First Order of Franciscans: the Observants, the Conventuals, and the Capuchins; the Second Order comprises nuns established by St. Clare under the guidance of St. Francis, known as the Poor Clares; and the Third Order comprising religious and lay men and women, including the Third Order Secular (living in the world without vows) and Third Order Regular (living in religious communities under vow).”
See more
Dennis Groenewegen