Cavan, Franciscan friary

  • religious foundations

Former Franciscan friary founded by Giolla Íosa Ruadh Ó Raghallaigh, lord of Bréifne, in the early 14th century.

See also: Franciscan friarsFranciscan friars
Franciscans, Franciscan Order, Grey Friars, Friars Minor, OFM
AAT: “Broad term for a Roman Catholic religious order comprising several divisions; founded by St. Francis of Assisi (1181-1226). The rule emphasizes the vow of poverty, theology, preaching, and aid to the poor and sick. Different schools of thought among followers developed over the years; St. Bonaventure (1257-1274) founded a moderate interpretation of St. Francis' rule that bridged many of the differences. The independent branches of the order are the First Order of Franciscans: the Observants, the Conventuals, and the Capuchins; the Second Order comprises nuns established by St. Clare under the guidance of St. Francis, known as the Poor Clares; and the Third Order comprising religious and lay men and women, including the Third Order Secular (living in the world without vows) and Third Order Regular (living in religious communities under vow).”
See more


Secondary sources (select)

Bhreathnach, Edel [project lead], and Keith Smith [project manager], Monastic Ireland, Online: The Discovery Programme. URL: <>. 
The aim of the Monastic Ireland project is to assemble accurate and comprehensive information relating to the history, landscape and material culture of Irish monastic houses c. 1100–1700, presented online through